Tit for tat

All litigators will occasionally need to extend a discovery or filing deadline. I’ve needed favors in the past and I will need them in the future. The legal profession can be such a grind if you’re fighting with other attorneys all the time about deadlines. Plus, an additional week or two doesn’t often mean much in the big picture of a lawsuit. To that end, I generally grant deadline extensions as a matter of course, no questions asked. Of course, implicit in my agreement is my expectation that the other lawyer will reciprocate if I ask for an extension. If, however, the other lawyer decides to add strings to his or her agreement to my request, all bets are off.

This is basic stuff. You treat me well, I’ll treat you well. But if you try to chisel me, don’t expect any future favors from me. It really is that simple. And heaven help you if I decide I don’t need that extension after all.

Leave a Reply

