Obituary

“Then shall the dust return to the earth as it was, and the spirit shall return unto God, Who gave it.” Ecclesiastes 12:7 (King James Version)

I wouldn’t say I had writer’s block, but I wasn’t feeling any great inspiration to write this evening. I didn’t want to write about the entirely predictable Andre Johnson/Texans divorce, Bibi’s speech to Congress, or tomorrow’s oral arguments in King v. Burwell. At the same time, I didn’t want to miss a night of posting. I’ve fallen into that bad habit in the past and I want to avoid that trap. Seeking inspiration, I checked out The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt. Today’s prompt–write your obituary–is challenging, to say the least.

I found myself struggling with two basic questions: (1) how will people remember me and (2) how do I want to be remembered? If the answers to those questions diverge, what can I do to make the answers converge instead? I found writing to be an excellent exercise in self-examination. I recommend everyone go through the process of writing their own obituary for at least a few minutes.

I’m not going to share my obituary just yet. It’s still a work in progress. I hope I have many years to perfect it!

In Loving Memory

2 thoughts on “Obituary

  1. Pingback: In Loving Memory: Write your obituary. Daily Prompt Rehash Part Deux-Duex. | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “An Ode To The Late, Great, Magnificent, Terry Pratchett” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

