Walking the Line

Today’s Daily Prompt:

Have you got a code you live by? What are the principles or set of values you actively apply in your life?

This one’s pretty easy. 

Therefore all things whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do ye even so to them: for this is the law and the prophets.
Matthew 7:12 (KJV)


One of my law schools professors described the Golden Rule as as a universal tenet among the world’s major religions. I’m not so sure about that; I don’t have any real knowledge about world religions. All I know is I’ve improved my happiness and reduced my stress by treating people with dignity and respect. I also tend to get much more accomplished than I would otherwise. Most people I know reciprocate, and I tend to have little time for people who do not. 

I’m not perfect on this score. I’m occasionally prone to losing my temper and lashing out at others.  Most of the time, I lash out not when I’m dealing with some other stress in my life, not because the other person deserves it.  This is wrong.  I need to and can do better. So if I do this to you, or if you see me doing it, please call me out on it. 

I Walk the Line

Leave a Reply

