Work it out week 2

After a long hiatus, I returned to the gym for the second week. I lifted weights today after doing cardio last week. I followed my friend Mike’s suggestion and started with a Stronglifts routine. The Stronglifts approach is straightforward enough: five sets of five reps each (not including warm-up sets) for squats, bench, and barbell rows for the Workout “A” day. I’ll tee up Workout “B” on Wednesday.

Some observations after tonight:

  1. My legs are sore. I’m grateful I don’t live in a three-story house.
  2. I’m reasonably happy with my form even after the long layoff. I’m happy I didn’t forget how to do this.
  3. I have a long way to regain the strength I had several months ago. I was never going to challenge Magnus ver Magnusson for the World’s Strongest Man title. Nonetheless, I felt much stronger when I stopped a few months ago than I feel now. At the same time, I wasn’t quite as weak tonight as I thought I’d be. My muscles didn’t forget everything over the span of several months. That gives me a small measure of hope.

I want to make exercise a regular part of my life again. Today represented a second (small) step in that process. So far so good!

Leave a Reply

