Eggs Benedict: Memorial Day breakfast

I felt like cooking something fun this weekend. The forecasts of torrential rain throughout Texas scared me from grilling, my traditional Memorial Day cooking method. So, I decided to wake up early today and make Eggs Benedict with oven-roasted potatoes and asparagus.

I’d botched the hollandaise sauce the last few times I tried it with our new blender. I decided to change my recipe instead of mastering the new appliance. I went Modernist and cooked the sauce sous vide. I had to change a couple of items in the recipe. I don’t have a whipping siphon. Also, I didn’t have any dry white wine this morning. The grocery store wouldn’t sell me any wine at 5:30 a.m. so I substituted more white wine vinegar. The vinegar seemed to work just fine.

I’m generally pleased on how the hollandaise sauce turned out despite my efforts. I could have blended it a bit more with an immersion blender to reduce some of the lumps. I can see how a whipping siphon would make the sauce super-light, as long as one blends the heck out of the sauce before pouring it into the siphon.

As an aside, please take some time this Memorial Day to remember those soldiers who died serving the United States during wartime. But for their sacrifice. I couldn’t prattle on about trivial diversions like cooking.

Leave a Reply

